top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia

A Farang in Thailand

Arrival to Chiang Mai, Thailand



I finally landed in Thailand! The plane ride and layover was a bit long and tiring, but I'm glad I made it safely to Thailand. I landed in Thailand around 3pm. When I got my bag, there was a man from ISDSI to pick me up from the airport. I also saw my fellow classmates that were on the program with me. From the airport, we had to ride a rod daeng (red truck) to reach to the hotel we were staying at in Chiang Mai.  In Thailand,  people drive on the left side of the road instead of the right side, which is how we drive in America. It's going to take a long time for me to look at the right way. The name of the hotel was Eco Resort located in Chiang Mai. I had to share a  room with someone that was in the program.  The bathroom was a communal, but it had a Western style to it and there was a Olympic pool at the back of the hotel. As you look at the plants and tree around the hotel, it had a little board that mention the known name and the scientific name. 


Rod daeng (Red Truck). The vehicle we used to move around Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai.

Later in the day, we went out for dinner at a restaurant that was a 7 minute walk from the hotel. I was ready to try out some Thai food, so I ordered sweet and sour duck with rice. I have never had this before, but I wasn't disappointed at all. The flavor was amazing and not spicy at all. People told me that Thai like spicy food, but my food wasn't spicy at all. So, I had to add extra pepper mixed with fish oil to get the level of spiciness I wanted.  Also, I am a Nigerian and we eat a lot of spicy food so, I was prepared for Thai food.  

After dinner, we went back to Eco Resort. I unpack the rest of my things and when to straight to bed because I was very tired due to jetlag. I'm so excited to see the many adventures I will go on and the things that I will experience in Thailand. I feel that this summer studying abroad will help me a lot in many ways that I would have never thought of. 

Safe travels, Cynthia Ubah. 

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page