top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia

Adventures in South Korea: Climbing Bukhansan (복한산)

Updated: Feb 20, 2020

As I was heading to South Korea, I promised myself that I will do things outside of my comfort zone even if it means doing it by myself. Well, I'm fulfilling that promise quite well. On Sunday, I decided to climb Bukhansan, the highest mountain within Seoul boundaries. FYI, this was my first time going hiking or climbing a mountain. I had instances where I walked and moved around rugged areas, but I won't compare it to the hiking I did on Sunday. I would best advise that you shouldn't go hiking on your own , but none of my friends wanted to hike with me so I had to do it alone. The good things was I met some nice people as I was hiking, who were sources of encouragement for me.


This is the map they had. If you didin't know how to read Korean, it would be difficult to understand and know where to go. Thank goodness, I could read and understand Korean.

On the trail, you will see different traditional Korean houses and temples on the mountain. Most of the time I saw people either sitting or saying prayers if it was a temple.


People would be swimming and relaxing around the streams.

Hiking up Bukhansan took 4 hours in total. It was very brutal for me because it has been a while since I put my body through such a gruesome activity. There were times I wanted to turn back and just go home and be happy with the fact I made an effort by coming. I was confused with where to go, and the map was a little hard for me to understand. I got lost once, but I retraced my steps and got back on track. Taking a picture of the map really helped me as I was hiking. Also, I asked other hikers if I was going in the right direction. I took multiple breaks and encouraged myself to not give up. At the same time, I met people on the trail that encouraged me to continue and said I was doing well. Once I made it to the top, the adrenaline and the rush of accomplishment though my body was surreal. Standing there, I started to cry happy tears because I was doing things I never thought I would be able to do. I freaking climbed a mountain! Something I wanted to do for a long time. I am the type of person that prefers trying something new with someone instead of going alone. Even though my friends couldn't make it. I didn't use it as an excuse at all, which is a form of growth for me. Trying to not sound cliche, but staying on the mountain made me feel like I was on top of the world.


The Bukhansan peak was 836m. This was the highest I have ever climbed!

Beaming with joy for accomplishing this adventure!

View of Seoul from the peak.


As I was starting to head back, it started to drizzle a little bit. I didn't have an umbrella or a good jacket for the rain. I pray to God to hold the rain until I make it out of the mountain. I moved very quickly through the trail. I almost got lost, but I was able to find my way again. I made it to the bus stop before it started to rain.




Going home, I was very tired and drained from my adventure. I'm glad I climbed Bukhansan! I was boasting in my heart that I did something quite new. The only regret I had was going climbing on a Sunday because I had to go to my internship the next, and my body was very sore.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page