top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia

Growing in the Arts

Before I visited South Korea, I was starting to have an interest in the arts. I visited my school's art museums and other art museums I would get access to. One thing about art is it's never the same in different countries. It was great to see the diverse artworks as I travel. I still need to brush up on my art terms and describing arts, however, I really enjoy the process of trying to figure out what the artist is trying to say.


As I am exploring my interest in arts, I decided to visit two popular art museums in Seoul, K-Museum of Contemporary of Arts and D Museum.


K Museum of Contemporary Arts

This museum is located in Gangnam district. My friend, Hannah, and I decided to visit here to check out an exhibition, Kiss: Love Moments. The artworks displayed were all about love and the special moment of a kiss. Walking around the exhibition and looking at each art reveal to me the "specialness" of sharing a kiss with someone you love. There were a lot of colors popping left and right. When we entered the exhibition, there was a video playing showing different graphics and movement of stars, paints, and other things. At the end of the display, there is a wall where you can put a sticker of a lip. I decided to keep mine as a souvenir!


My friend, Hannah, and I







For more information about the K Museum of Contemporary Arts, check out their Instagram @kmcaseoul .


D Museum

I took myself on a date to this museum, and I was truly in awe and amazement at the artwork that was displayed. Apparently, D Museum is a popular place to go on a date because I saw a lot of couples. Each corner you turn, you are exposed to different artworks in different forms. One of my favorite pieces was the metallic women, which was created from metal. When I saw this piece, I thought about how strong women are and being proud of them. There were also some artworks, I didn't quite understand, but it was cool to look at. On the floor, you will see different quotes that are related to life or art.


"Whenever I see a white paper, I get that feeling that I should start drawing. Drawing is the beginning of everything as for me." -- Ellsworth Kelly





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page