top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia

My First K-pop Award Show

One thing I wanted to complete on my bucket list was watching my favorite K-pop band perform. Lucky for me, my friend found a K-pop award show called the 2019 SORIBADA Awards. This award show was part of the K-World FESTA that occurred from August 15-24th. Since I was busy with my internship, I decided to go for the award show on August 22th.


I was very excited for this show because the line-up was filled with most of my favorite artists such as Mamamoo, Chung Ha, ATEEZ, Stray Kids, and much more. This was a great experience for me because it was my first time at an award show and being in a huge concert arena.





Seeing Chung Ha perform in person was amazing. I watched her dance and music videos, and she is very talented. Even when she did a dance on Produce 101 to a Beyonce song and i was amazed at her talent. Seeing the effort and the passion she put into her performance, I was proud of how far she has come.


The other performance I enjoyed watching was Hwasa. Bruh, Hwasa is a boss lady. She gave her all in her performance. I wasn't even expecting her to perform tonight either. She has an amazing stage presence. I was very surprised with the outfit she wore! It really gave me some J.Lo vibes. I was like 'Yes girl! You are slaying!!' Seeing her perform was amazing! I finally saw why Koreans call her 'Korea's Beyonce.'


Hwasa giving a speech after receiving a SORIBADA award

MAMAMOO! I finally saw them perform! They are my favorite girl group due to their personalities and vocals. I wasn't disappointed with their performance at all! I was screaming on the top of my voice for most of the performance. The only thing sad about the performance was Wheein wasn't there because she was sick.


One thing that surprised me was the amount of screaming fans. I remember there was an artist that performed and my whole section started to screamed on top of there voice for him! My ears were bursting and I was in awe at the fans. The love they showed him was amazing.



TWICE is a popular girl group in South Korea. Although, I am not a fan, their performance was really amazing..

My friend and I at the award show.


I'm grateful for my friend for finding this event and going there with me.


For more information on SOBA Award, check out https://en.kworldfesta.com/ .



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page