top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia

Visiting Changdeokgung Palace and Insadong

Updated: Feb 20, 2020

I'm glad for the type of supervisor I had for my internship. She was able to organized an excursion with her sister to show us Changdeokgung Palace and Insadong. So we decided to book the excursion on a Saturday.


The first place we went was Changdeokgung Palace. I have visited Changdeokgung Palace the last time I was in South Korea. However, this time we had the opportunity to see the Secret Garden. This garden is beautiful. I love how the landscape and the buildings. After looking around, I realized that I have seen some of these areas in Korean historical drama. Looking at these buildings, it made me think about how people use to live in such areas. With watching Korean historical drama, I noticed how the royal family didn't have a lot of freedom to go out and see the country instead they had to stay in the palace. The Secret Garden was created to help relieve the feeling of loss and missing out. For me, it made me be grateful for my freedom as women to roam around and do the things I want to do in my life


We went on a tour to see the Secret Garden. The garden was created for the royal family to go on walks and roam around freely.

I remember seeing this when I was watching a Korean historical drama.




After visiting Changdeokgung Palace, we went to Insadong. We looked around Insadong and checked out the Ssamziegil complex which is filled with cozy cafes, little shops, and snacks shop. I remember going to a shop that had cat figurines and different cat products. There was a shop that teach customers how to create things from leather.


Another popular things in Insadong's pedestrianized main street, which is filled with Korean teahouses, restaurants, Korean souvenir shops, traditional Korean items, and jewelry shops. These main street are filled with a lot of foreigners and Korean. It was packed and lively with little performance from street performancers.



My CEO's sister took us to a building that allowed us to try on hanboks, which is the Korean traditional wear.

Although, it was a lot of walking around, I enjoyed going to these places with my supervisor's sister and my co-intern. Stay tune to read more on my adventure in South Korea.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page